Lillebaby COMPLETE {Review & Giveaway}

lillebabyreview

Sorry to bombard you guys with awesome giveaways lately, we just can’t resist because we love our readers so much!

Drumroll please, mamas, it’s time to chat about the Lillebaby COMPLETE baby carrier.

photo 1(5)

The Lillebaby COMPLETE (pronounced Lil-la baby) is the latest redesign of the Lillebaby brand soft structured carrier. Lillebaby has had a few previous versions, but the company finally went back to their small town Colorado roots (yay, Colorado! I love local businesses.) and came up with this new style. I was sent this fabulous organic version of the carrier to try out, and I have to say that I really like it! My first reactions to opening up the box were:

 1) The color (Green Meadow) is seriously gorgeous. (It is brighter in person.)
2) The fabric is deliciously soft
3) It looks a little complicated and so do the instructions
and 4) What the heck is this big black thing on the back?

7f7978ce4e7362c1d4218094d328ab67

This, my friends, is a funny little supportive attachment that is used for lumbar support. I don’t use the lumbar support right now because Penelope is teeny tiny still, but when carrying my sleeping toddler on my front; it’s a pretty cool feature that helps support your back! I suppose this, among many other reasons, is why the carrier is called the COMPLETE… they really thought of (almost) everything. I do kind of think that COMPLETE is a word that leaves pretty big shoes to fill. They have come pretty close, but I think it is missing a few little features that I think would make it an even better carrier and bring it much closer to being COMPLETE.

For example:

1-      When using the Lillebaby COMPLETE, I sorely miss the strap that is on my other go-to carrier that keeps my purse/diaper bag from slipping off of my shoulder.  This may not be a big deal to you if you have never needed or used this feature on a carrier, but it is one that I really like and I think would make the Lillebaby COMPLETE even better.

2-      The stirrups for optimal toddler positioning for older kiddos are not included, like they are with another carrier I have. They are however available to purchase as an add-on, as well as teething pads.

3-      There is no pocket on the carrier. Whether a credit card/wallet pocket or a place to stuff an extra diaper and a few wipes, the pocket is something I think a carrier really should have.

4-      Other carriers are winning in the design realm- there are no patterns to choose from. Although, I have to admit that this isn’t necessarily a deterrent for me, as I really love the clean, modern look of the Lillebaby and I think the color choices are fabulous.

CarryingTab_Lillebaby_Carriers_Positions

This carrier is useable in every position you could want. You can front carry facing in, front carry facing out (something I personally don’t choose to do, but it is an option for a mom who wants to do so for short periods of time in an ergonomic way), you can hip carry & back carry as well.  You wouldn’t really need to ever buy another carrier, unless you are a babywearing junkie like some of the moms on this blog… *cough cough Xza & Alyssa…*

I’m 5’4” tall (okay, on the short side of 5’4”), and one problem I had initially with wearing my newborn in this carrier was connecting the chest clip behind me on my own. Once Penny got even a little bigger, it was easier. This carrier also is adjusted as small as it possibly can be adjusted for me to wear it– the arm straps, the waist buckle, the chest clip strap. If I was smaller, this carrier would probably be too big until my baby got bigger. I think this carrier would be totally excellent for a fluffier mama or a tall mama. It is, however, fitting me better and better as Penny grows. And speaking of chest clip, this carrier has an AWESOME little pad (you can see it in the photo of the back of the carrier above) that goes under the chest clip. It makes a big difference, especially when you have a heavy toddler on your back.

I put Penny in the Lillebaby COMPLETE for the first time at about 2 weeks old and she perfectly fit with no ergonomic concern in regards to her seat positioning. My only issue was that she should have been a little tighter to my body, which would not have been a problem if I hadn’t already tightened the carrier down as far as it would go. We were able to put her in a fetal position in this carrier with the seat at it’s widest, with a little receiving blanket rolled up underneath of her, with the safety strap inside wrapped around her. No insert was necessary.

I love how this carrier’s seat folds up to accommodate an infant, and unfolds and reattaches through the waist belt to fit a toddler who needs a wider seat. I really love that I don’t need an insert for Penny. My biggest issue with this is that I can’t easily switch back and forth between the two styles; it takes me a few minutes to do it. So if I want to put my toddler on my back because she is sleepy and is craving touch after wearing my 10 week old,  it’s a little bit of an ordeal to change the positioning. There also is a little tiny bit of a learning curve if you are trying to decipher the instructions on your own.

I found the waist belt to be very comfortable. It is wider than some other carriers, however, despite the comfort level, it isn’t very flattering on me, it gives me more muffin top than I prefer. I was chatting with another friend who has the same carrier and she has found this to be an issue for her as well. I don’t really care though because my hubby thinks I’m hot and so mostly comfort is all  that matters- Haha.

There is a fold-down portion on the back support part of the carrier. This makes for awesome head support for a little one. Penny doesn’t like both sides buckled, so we often have one side buckled, the other side down so she can see out of the side. This feature is also nice because there is a lot more support for a sleeping toddler’s back when it is buckled. It makes it much taller than my other SSC’s. It has an awesome hood as well, so there really is a TON of coverage if you are seeking a carrier that you can very discretely nurse in.

The shoulder straps are the most comfortable I have ever worn. There is a lot of padding, it feels marshmallow soft.

The price point is very similar to the other major brands of SSC’s, ranging from 110.00 to 135.00. They have three styles of the COMPLETE, the Original, the Organic and the Airflow.  You can check them out along with the colors at http://lillebaby.com/products-page-2/baby-carriers/

photo 5(2)

I make my husband use all of our carriers. He looks so handsome and sweet wearing our babies! My husband’s [incredibly short] review of the Lillebaby COMPLETE for your man’s benefit is “It’s super easy and comfortable. It’s terrific. “

Overall, the Lillebaby COMPLETE is a great way to wear your little munchkin. It might not be the best fit for short/petite moms with little teeny babies, but it is a well-designed and well-made option that will last for a really long time for the majority of parents. The fabric is seriously luscious (go ahead and splurge on the organic, it’s worth it!) and it’s very comfortable for both wearer and wear-ee.

photo 1(4)
(Sorry for the sloppy photo, we were hanging out at the Denver Chalk Art Festival all day!)

laney

I was given a Lillebaby COMPLETE to review, but that didn’t affect my opinion of this product. If I didn’t like it, I would tell you. :)

Enter below to win your very own Lillebaby COMPLETE!

 

 

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

87 Comments

  1. Kelly -  June 27, 2013 - 12:53 pm

    The multiple carry positions.

  2. Melanie -  June 27, 2013 - 12:54 pm

    I like the head support, but the no pocket thing would be inconvenient. I have an ergo and the pocket is big enough to fit a diaper, empty wet bag, and some wipes as well as my license/credit cards and phone so it makes it really nice when I am running errands and don’t want to lug a bunch of stuff around. Some sort of pouch is definitely something they should at least add to their accessories.

  3. KB -  June 27, 2013 - 12:55 pm

    I want this so bad. I have the Everywhere carrier, and love it! This one looks AMAZING. And the green is adorable.

  4. KB -  June 27, 2013 - 12:56 pm

    Oh. I forgot to say what my favorite part was. I like the buckle padding. It’s a tiny feature, but appears to do so much.

  5. Kristie Benson -  June 27, 2013 - 12:57 pm

    Looks like a comfy carrier. I would love to try it out.

  6. Rebecca Loesch -  June 27, 2013 - 12:59 pm

    I like that it has wide straps. It looks very comfortable for both mommy(or daddy :) ) and baby!

  7. Heather -  June 27, 2013 - 1:00 pm

    The padding under the clip is a fantastic idea!

  8. Ilana -  June 27, 2013 - 1:02 pm

    I love how many options there are for carrying positions

  9. Jacki -  June 27, 2013 - 1:03 pm

    I would love to have one of these – the multiple positions would probably be my favorite part and having a pack would make life so much easier since I’ll also be chasing a toddler!

  10. Allison -  June 27, 2013 - 1:05 pm

    Love the wide padded straps– totally looking for “The perfect carrier” after minimal success with #1!

  11. Katie Ireland -  June 27, 2013 - 1:17 pm

    lumbar support and the so so many positions of baby wearing.

  12. Jenna Fischer -  June 27, 2013 - 1:19 pm

    I would love to try this carrier – we have very little as far as ergonomic carriers in my area and it would be great to try this one!

  13. claire -  June 27, 2013 - 1:19 pm

    I think i’d really benefit from the lumbar support thingimajig! I usually wear my 2.5 almost 25lb son in my boba and it’s getting a bit difficult to carry him on my front as he gets heavier. My lower back gets tight and sore within about half an hour. I’d love to try this carrier!

  14. Trisha -  June 27, 2013 - 1:21 pm

    I like that it’s gender-neutral, for the wearer. My husband isn’t really into wraps or slings, so this sort of thing would be perfect for him.

  15. Emily -  June 27, 2013 - 1:22 pm

    I’ve heard it’s REALLY comfy! :) My guy is heavy.

  16. Nicole -  June 27, 2013 - 1:27 pm

    All the extra padding. It looks super-comfy!

  17. Tina T -  June 27, 2013 - 1:39 pm

    I love that you can front, hip or back carry. I also LOVE that you can nurse discretely as well.

  18. KR -  June 27, 2013 - 1:44 pm

    This looks super comfy and I love the color!

  19. kate exley -  June 27, 2013 - 1:45 pm

    i love the color and that you can use it for hip carries, etc

  20. Shirisha Prodduturi -  June 27, 2013 - 3:22 pm

    I like the head support feature for the little one.

  21. Angela -  June 27, 2013 - 4:16 pm

    I’ve been drooling over this for a while now, I would be sooooo happy to get one! I especially love the idea of carrying my 2mo without an infant insert!

  22. TJ -  June 27, 2013 - 4:21 pm

    Favorite feature would have to be the lumbar support, I get such back aches when wearing my 20lbs lil boy

  23. Tracy adler -  June 27, 2013 - 4:34 pm

    My favorite feature is actually a set of features… The versatility on how many different ways you can wear your baby! I’ve never seen anything like it before!

  24. Nicole U -  June 27, 2013 - 4:41 pm

    I love that the shoulder straps are padded and that it comes in organic. Thanks for the chance to win!

  25. nici r -  June 27, 2013 - 4:48 pm

    I love that it has so many carring positions!

  26. Laura M -  June 27, 2013 - 5:02 pm

    I really love the adjustability and the support features for a newborn!

  27. SamaNtha Caster -  June 27, 2013 - 5:04 pm

    I LOVE the fabric cover that goes over babies head

  28. Michelle scieneaux -  June 27, 2013 - 5:09 pm

    I love that its complete! And the great back support!

  29. kristin davis -  June 27, 2013 - 5:15 pm

    I really like all of the different position options.

  30. Amanda morin -  June 27, 2013 - 5:26 pm

    i like the great colors and that its organic & comfortable

  31. Tianah -  June 27, 2013 - 5:30 pm

    I remember eying this at MCMA, so glad I could read a review from a trustworthy sorce!

  32. Sandra Simons -  June 27, 2013 - 5:37 pm

    I would love to have this carrier.

  33. Kristi -  June 27, 2013 - 5:45 pm

    I’ve been admiring this carrier for months now! – hopefully my luck can win out with this giveaway!! :D Thanks for the very thorough and straightforward review! It’s always nice to get someone’s honest opinion!

  34. Andrea -  June 27, 2013 - 5:59 pm

    I like the hood for discreet nursing.

  35. jorge l medina -  June 27, 2013 - 6:03 pm

    I really like the infant options.

  36. Olivia Rubin -  June 27, 2013 - 6:23 pm

    I like the soft color options and variety of baby wearing options

  37. Julie -  June 27, 2013 - 6:37 pm

    The hip option!

  38. Jennifer -  June 27, 2013 - 7:29 pm

    its so versatile with so many carry positions!

  39. lace -  June 27, 2013 - 8:00 pm

    The buckles and how easy it looks to take on and off.

  40. JLin -  June 27, 2013 - 8:26 pm

    It can be usable in every position you could want.

  41. Sara -  June 27, 2013 - 9:00 pm

    Lumbar support!!

  42. Christine M -  June 27, 2013 - 9:06 pm

    I love the organic cotton fabric.

  43. Erin -  June 27, 2013 - 9:29 pm

    What a great carrier! Sounds like an amazing giveaway! Thanks for the chance!

  44. Vicky -  June 27, 2013 - 9:49 pm

    This carrier looks amazing! I love that it’s so versatile and looks so comfortable. I need to try this!

  45. Katelyn -  June 27, 2013 - 10:13 pm

    My favorite feature is that the baby can face in and OUT! I would love that since my ergobaby doesn’t allow for that.

  46. Britni Bradford -  June 27, 2013 - 10:24 pm

    love that there’s an organic fabric option

  47. April -  June 27, 2013 - 10:25 pm

    I love the pretty color!

  48. Sarah -  June 27, 2013 - 10:51 pm

    I love the lumbar support – as a Chiropractor’s wife, it seems like a wonderful idea!

  49. Caitlyn D. O'Grady -  June 27, 2013 - 10:53 pm

    The lumbar support looks awesome! That would be great for my husband who has DDD but loves to wear our babies. I also love all the different carries you can do! How versatile!

  50. Claire Rheinheimer -  June 27, 2013 - 11:16 pm

    I love the different carrying position options, every baby likes something different and even that changes over time.

  51. Shelley -  June 27, 2013 - 11:23 pm

    Green is my favorite color! Not nearly enough green in the world in my opinion, and I LOVE the color of this carrier!

  52. Shelley -  June 27, 2013 - 11:24 pm

    I also love all the carrying positions. :)

  53. Jessica M -  June 28, 2013 - 12:58 am

    I really love this I need a new carrier since my lo is getting too big for the baby ktan (he gets squirmy in it). Really love the different positions we could use. Maybe after showing pics of your so wearing a carrier I can get mine on board :) thanks for the review!!

  54. Renee -  June 28, 2013 - 1:39 am

    The back support!

  55. Jessica -  June 28, 2013 - 4:03 am

    I like the toddler stirrups

  56. ginger g. -  June 28, 2013 - 5:02 am

    I love that it can be used for an infant or toddler!

  57. Kim S -  June 28, 2013 - 5:42 am

    I had never heard of this carrier until now! Love that it’s made of organic materials and can be used from birth to toddler!

  58. Jessica -  June 28, 2013 - 5:43 am

    I am DYING to get a Lillebaby COMPLETE! Have heard so many amazing reviews!

  59. laura cavazos -  June 28, 2013 - 6:02 am

    I like that you can front or back carry and the wide range of sizes that it accomodates.

  60. Jenn McClearn -  June 28, 2013 - 7:01 am

    baby #3 is due in August, I love that the seat folds up to accommodate an infant :)

  61. Charlee -  June 28, 2013 - 9:25 am

    Love that its organic

  62. Delaina -  June 28, 2013 - 10:45 am

    I like the idea of the back support. My children come out big and grow even bigger in a hurry so while I still like to wear them on my front its just not comfortable in most carriers.

  63. Sarah -  June 28, 2013 - 2:55 pm

    I love that there are so many ways to wear it.

  64. Jenny -  June 28, 2013 - 3:59 pm

    I’d love to try it!

  65. Alicia -  June 28, 2013 - 6:38 pm

    Thank you so much for the give away! It’d be great for our new addition in September!

  66. Tiffany -  June 28, 2013 - 7:15 pm

    I think the multiple carry options are terrific! I put her on my side for housework, but back carry when walking our dogs. Thanks for the giveaway!

  67. Molly Bussler -  June 28, 2013 - 7:54 pm

    I love the comfy straps.
    It’s really nice!

  68. Grace S -  June 29, 2013 - 12:15 pm

    I love all the different carrying positions

  69. Christy -  June 29, 2013 - 3:11 pm

    I love that this allows you to wear your baby facing out…my babies hate it when they can’t see what’s going on!

  70. Chelsea Rutledge -  June 29, 2013 - 3:58 pm

    I love that it is safe to Cary your baby facing forward. And that it has the feature period! Most carries don’t have the forward facing feature!

  71. Abby Caraway -  June 29, 2013 - 5:43 pm

    The wide padded straps

  72. Lola Davidson -  June 29, 2013 - 5:50 pm

    We have one and love it, but my husband and I are different sizes and its really a hassle always readjusting the straps. It’s easy. But annoying when we have it just right. Would love for us to each have our own adjusted to our height and size for comfort

  73. Allison -  June 29, 2013 - 10:56 pm

    I love the back support!!!

  74. Lucy -  June 30, 2013 - 1:54 am

    I like the fold down on the body to give extra support for sleeping babes!

  75. Verna -  June 30, 2013 - 10:26 pm

    I love how comfy it looksfor parent and chold as well as how versatile it is! The color is lovely as well!

  76. Megan -  July 2, 2013 - 2:21 pm

    This is the carrier I want desperately. I was hoping a really awesome family member would buy one for me seeing as my due date is tomorrow but if not, I will save my pennies and get one.

  77. Annie -  July 2, 2013 - 4:58 pm

    I love the versatility of this carrier!

  78. kimberly -  July 2, 2013 - 9:08 pm

    Love the multiple carries!

  79. Kellie -  July 3, 2013 - 7:49 am

    I love how comfortable it is and that it will last a long time!

  80. Alicia -  July 3, 2013 - 6:57 pm

    I LOVE thee color of this carrier! Thanks for the opportunity!

  81. Emily N -  July 3, 2013 - 7:33 pm

    I got a chance to play around with a friend’s lillebaby complete. It was a little complicated to figure out. She is a BW newb, so she was looking for me to help her figure it out. It has so many snaps and buckles to accommodate the different positions. And of course she waited until I was thoroughly confused to remember she still had the box. >.< Aside from the complicated factor, I loved playing with it for the day. I totally agree with you on the softness! It's mushy even brand new! And the pads are so perfect. That's my favorite feature, for sure.

  82. Allison -  July 4, 2013 - 3:21 am

    My favorite feature is that it can go back and forth between hubby and me. He just got into wearing our son and it’s a tight squeeze in the mei tai.

    Thanks for all you do!

  83. Gingerina -  July 15, 2013 - 10:02 am

    Do you think this would be comfortable to wear on a hot day? I’m debating getting this one vs the Airflow one. I like the color on the organic better.

  84. Katie -  September 6, 2013 - 5:41 pm

    I can’t see the giveaway part to enter. I am on my mobile but I really want to enter. Please help

Leave comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *